2019 Authors…

Hello! Welcome to our bios and photos page! Meet just some of the fantastic writers taking part in the 2019 Festival (many more – including over 100 Myanmar authors – will appear here as we receive their bios & photos)…

Ian Holliday

Ian Holliday is Vice-President (Teaching and Learning) at the University of Hong Kong. Previously he was Dean of Social Sciences at the University of.... [ read more ]

Jane Houng

Currently based in Hong Kong, Jane is a graduate of Cambridge University and the Vermont College of Fine Art’s MFA programme in Creative Writing.... [ read more ]

Roja Fazaeli

Dr Roja Fazaeli is Assistant Professor of Islamic Civilisations at Trinity College, Dublin and Warden of Trinity Hall, a residential learning community of 1,000.... [ read more ]

Christopher Reid

Christopher John Reid, FRSL (born 13 May 1949) is a Hong Kong-born British poet, essayist, cartoonist, and writer. In January 2010 he won the 2009 Costa Book Award for A Scattering, written.... [ read more ]

Anjan Sundaram

Anjan Sundaram is the author of Bad News: Last Journalists in a Dictatorship (Ingabire prize, PEN America prize finalist, Amazon Best Book of 2016).... [ read more ]

Dipika Mukherjee

Dr. Dipika Mukherjee holds a PhD in English (Sociolinguistics) and is the author of the novels Shambala Junction, which won the UK Virginia Prize.... [ read more ]

Thweep Rittinaphakorn

Thweep ‘Ake’ Rittinaphakorn is an independent scholar whose work focuses on textiles and woven material in relation to history of mainland Southeast Asia, particularly.... [ read more ]

Michael Vatikiotis

Michael Vatikiotis is the Asia Regional Director for the Geneva-based Centre for Humanitarian Dialogue. Based in Singapore, he works on promoting dialogue and conflict.... [ read more ]

Chris Gunness

Chris Gunness was born in Trinidad, then a British colony, to an Indian father and an English mother. His great great great great grandfather.... [ read more ]

Ann Pasternak Slater

Ann Pasternak Slater (born 3 August 1944) is a literary scholar and translator who was formerly a Fellow and Tutor at St Anne’s College, Oxford. She.... [ read more ]

Ponnya Khin

Ponnya Khin was born on 22 September 1972 in Kyaunggon, a delta town in Ayeyarwady Region. On completing high school she started work as a.... [ read more ]

George FitzHerbert

George FitzHerbert is a scholar, traveller and writer. He has worked as a journalist with the BBC World Service, as a Lecturer in Tibetan.... [ read more ]

Ramon David

Roman David is Professor and Head of the Department of Sociology and Social Policy at Lingnan University, Hong Kong. He is the author of Lustration.... [ read more ]

Xu Xi

XU XI 許素細 is the author of fourteen books — five novels, eight collections of short fiction and essays, one memoir — and also.... [ read more ]

Abbott Nicholas Vreeland

Nicholas Vreeland is the Abbot of Rato Dratsang, one of a few important Tibetan Government monasteries under the patronage of His Holiness the Dalai.... [ read more ]

Anthony Ware

Anthony Ware is a Senior Lecturer in International & Community Development at Deakin University. His research focuses on international development in conflict-affected situations, and.... [ read more ]

Jung Chang

Jung Chang is the internationally bestselling author of Wild Swans: Three Daughters of China; Mao: The Unknown Story (with Jon Halliday) ; and Empress.... [ read more ]

Costas Laoutides

Dr Costas Laoutides is a Senior Lecturer in International Relations at Deakin University. A political scientist by training he specializes on separatist conflicts. He.... [ read more ]

Murzban F Shroff

Murzban F. Shroff is a Mumbai-based writer. He has published his fiction with over 65 literary journals in the U.S. and UK. His stories.... [ read more ]

Marcus du Sautoy

Marcus du Sautoy is the Simonyi Professor for the Public Understanding of Science and Professor of Mathematics at the University of Oxford and a.... [ read more ]

Guy Slater

Guy Slater is an accomplished Actor / Writer / Director/ Producer/Teacher His acting career includes an extensive repertory of West End, Television, including I.... [ read more ]